Sick Day

I’ve been sick for a few days, actually. At first, I thought it was just allergies, but the allergy medicine I got didn’t help with my cough. It’s this persistent racking thing that turns my throat into hamburger and gives me a headache. So I tried some Dayquil, but that helped even less. So I tried some dedicated cough suppressant; still nothing. So I’m back to thinking it’s just a really awful allergy attack from breathing in dashboard dust. Really need to get out there and clean it today.

I used to think I had chronic sinus infections. As an infant, I was in a croup tent for a couple weeks, and I’ve had weak lungs ever since. I get bronchitis at the drop of a hat, usually in the form of a secondary infection from something. So I’d get this awful sickness, then end up with bronchitis whether I took antibiotics or not. And now, I’m starting to think I understand why they didn’t help.

This is the problem with prescribing antibiotics “just in case.” It’s not just the resistant bacteria strains we get these days, though that is a ridiculously huge problem. But it’s also the simple fact that, by giving me the “just in case” pills, they were throwing up their hands instead of trying to find the real cause.

Antibiotics are easy. And hey, they’ll probably help, right? And then you end up with a 34 year old woman who never knew she’d been suffering from allergies her whole life.

Leave a Reply

